Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a system of Yoga popularized in modern times by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. The name Ashtanga Yoga means “8 limbs” in Sanskrit. It is a reference to the 8-part method of practice in the ancient text, the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. In Patanjali’s method, the practice of asana or postures is one part of a comprehensive discipline of social, physical, and mental training.

Pattabhi Jois taught a dynamic method of sequenced postures linked with breath and concentration techniques that aim to give practical experience of the 8-limbed method. Ashtanga Yoga is taught in two complementary formats.



Jivamukti Yoga

Jivamukti yoga is a method that was created by David Life and Sharon Gannon in 1984, reintegrating the physical, philosophical and spiritual aspects of yoga.  The emphasis in the West has been on yoga as mostly a physical practice.  More and more people are achieving firmer bodies through regular yoga classes but many are finding something more. 

What starts out as a purely physical practice creeps into the hearts and minds of even the least spiritual practitioners.  David and Sharon became teachers because they were passionate about communicating yoga as more than just a system of exercises, but also as a spiritual practice: a path to enlightenment.  From their earliest classes, they have taught a living translation of the Indian system of yoga in a way that Western minds can comprehend.  That is why Jivamukti yoga emphasises vigorous asana as its primary technique, but other practices such as meditation, devotional chanting and study of the ancient texts play an important role as well.

The Jivamukti method is one of the nine internationally recognised styles of Hatha Yoga.  The other eight being: Ashtanga, Iyengar, Viniyoga, Sivananda, Integral, Bikram, Kripalu, and Kundalini.

 We chose the name Jivamukti (pronounced Jee-va-mook-tee) Yoga to reflect the true aim of yoga, which is liberation. Jiva means individual soul and mukti means liberation. The exact transliteration of the Sanskrit word from which Jiavmukti is derived is jivanmuktih, which means liberation while living. The name Jivamukti Yoga reflects the fact that it is possible to have a beneficial and fulfilling life in the world, and also progress spiritually-perhaps even attaining liberation (Samadhi) while living.
— Sharon Gannon


Shantiseva Yoga

Shantiseva is a Hatha-based practice of breath, asana, meditation and kriyas, with a very strong connection to First Nations teachings. Each class is connected to an element: Earth, Fire, Water, Air and Ether and taught with a vinyasa flowing form. Shantiseva explores the direct realization of inter-connectedness with the thriving health of the 5 elements to our planet, our body, our mind, our soul, and the children of our future generations.
“Planting the seed for highly conscious living in all facets of life through intention, germination of these seeds through creativity and insight, maturation through experience in action, fruition through sharing with others.”




Yogis have prescribed six kriyas for internal cleansing of the body. These kriyas are called Shatkarmas. These kriyas help clean the nose, the throat, esophagus, stomach and intestines. These kriyas help to cure the diseases of eyes, nose and throat. They are an effective prevention for coughs and colds. The kriyas should be practiced on an empty stomach in the morning.

Yogic science gives as much importance to certain cleansing processes as it does to asanas or Pranayama. Without regular cleaning of the system you will not gain maximum benefits from your practices. Without first eliminating toxins and impurities from the body, it is very difficult to practice the higher Yoga Techniques. These Six Shat karmas (six cleansing processes) nothing else, constitute the branch of Healthy Yoga.
They are very important from the point of view of physical and mental health, and these simple techniques are also highly valuable in healing internal disorders.

There are six main groups of shatkarmas or yogic cleansers as follows:

  1. Neti: nasal cleansing, including Jala neti and Sutra neti.

  2. Dhauti: cleansing of the digestive tract, including danta dhauti, vatsara dhauti and so forth.

  3. Basti: colon cleaning.

  4. Nauli: abdominal massage.

  5. Kapalbhati: purification and vitalization of the frontal lobes.

  6. Trataka: blinkless gazing.

They are all excellent practices designed to purify the whole body and bring about first class health. They also bring clarity and harmony to the mind. We suggest you try some of them.



Prenatal Yoga

Prenatal Yoga creates a community space for mamas to build camaraderie in their unique and fiercely beautiful experiences. Feeling connected to others experiencing the same journey is powerful. Prenatal Yoga allows for the development of a community of support, strength and wellness. Various practices will help women prepare their bodies for giving birth by cultivating a deep awareness to the multitude of changes throughout pregnancy. Prenatal Yoga reminds women of the sacredness of this journey, taking the time to nurture oneself and cultivate the energy to enjoy pregnancy. Each class honours the unique journey of each mama and are designed to explore and experience a mamas changing body in a safe and supportive environment. Mamas are empowered to connect with their innate wisdom that they know what they need at any given moment.



Restorative yoga

To assist persons with physical limitations who might have difficulty performing standard poses, restorative yoga offers an adaptive yoga class in which the standing poses are adapted for those who do not stand. The Rehab Adaptive Yoga Class starts with breath awareness and gentle warm-ups, includes a series of adaptive poses and ends with guided relaxation. Many adaptive yoga students have noted the following benefits after taking the class: improved posture, less back pain, increased stamina and enhanced feeling of relaxation. Those who continue yoga practice at home seem to experience even more benefits. Yoga is really about self-awareness and enhancing one's whole being — physically, mentally and spiritually.



Sivananda Yoga

A Sivananda Yoga session follows a specific sequence of Classical Hatha Yoga Postures, Breathing and Relaxation Exercises.

The practice stems from the teachings of the Great Yoga Master Swami Sivananda and his disciple Swami Vishnudevanada.

A Sivananda yoga class will stick closely to the teachings of these Yoga Masters. There is a strong focus on the exercises and physical benefits of yoga, as well as other aspects of yoga such as proper breathing, proper relaxation, healthy eating, meditation & positive thinking.



Yin yoga

Yin yoga is a perfect compliment to the more Yang styles of yoga. By holding poses, connective tissues (muscle fascia, tendons, ligaments….) are released, thus improving flexibility. The asanas chosen in this practice stretch energy lines stimulates healing and nourishment of the organs, moving prana (life force) through the body. These supported poses activate the parasympathetic nervous system (the body's natural healing system) and are beneficial to everyone seeking stress reduction, and opportunities for well being through stillness. Creating space within, improving mental strength and clarity.